Welcome to the
Charlotte Economics Club

The Charlotte Economics Club’s mission is to provide leadership in the use and understanding of economic information and industry trends that affect our region’s economic growth.

  • Webinar
    March 23, 2021
    8:00 am - 9:00 am


  • Helen Qiao, Bank of America
    Helen Qiao is a managing director and chief economist for the Greater China and head of Asia Economics Research, based in Hong Kong. Prior to that, Qiao spent more than six years at Goldman Sachs as Senior China Economist and four years at Morgan Stanley as Chief Greater China Economist. Previously, she worked at the World Bank Group (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development) in Washington DC and Lehman Brothers in Tokyo. Qiao has written a wide range of thematic research papers on China. Her work has been published in media and in academic journals, such as The Journal of Policy Modeling. Her team has been ranked top-three in the Institutional Investor All Asia research team surveys in 2013-2018 consecutively and No. 1 in Asia economic research in the Institutional Investor Global Fixed Income survey in 2019. Qiao holds a BA Degree in international trade from the Renmin University of China, and Masters Degree and a PhD in economics from Stanford University. Helen is currently serving as a member on the Advisory Council of Bretton Woods Committee, which works to demonstrate the value of international economic cooperation and spur economic growth, alleviate poverty, and improve financial stability. For more information about any awards cited, visit https://rsch.baml.com/awards.